Humans of New York

Humans of New York måste nog vara en av min favorithemsidor, jag följer dem både på Tumblr och på Facebook och varje dag får jag läsa ärliga, fina och sorgliga historier från invånarna i New York. De kan vara allt från affärskvinnor, till uteliggare till moderiktiga fyraåringar som berättar om sina lyckligaste, gladaste och svåraste stunder, om sina bästa råd och klokaste tankar. Här kommer ett litet urval av de senaste berättelserna som har blivit publicerade.

”If you could give one piece of advice to a large group of people, what would it be?”
“Be optimistic.”
“When did you have the toughest time being optimistic?”
“Two months ago, when I got diagnosed with prostate cancer.”
“What was your initial response?”
“Depression, anxiety, fear. They caught it pretty late. Hopefully not too late, but late. There were times when I was walking down the street and I wished that I could just get shot or hit by a bus. My father died of prostate cancer when I was twelve, so you know, I assumed that was it for me.”
“So how’d you get past those feelings?”
“By going to work every day. And having a drink every night.”

”We go to the same church.”
”I just got out of a thirteen year marriage, and he’s really helped me gain back my independence.”
“So what have you learned during this transition?”
“I’ve realized that everyone has a certain amount of power. You can give it away, or you can keep it for yourself. For awhile there I’d given it all away, and now I’m learning how to claim it back.”
”Don’t try to be someone else’s beautiful.”

”I hate when people say that you never forget how to ride a bicycle. Because I forgot three times. So I gave up and got a tricycle.”

”My dad died when I was eight, so I went to live with my aunt.”
”How did he die?”
”AIDS.”
”Where was your mom?”
”She died when I was two.”
”AIDS?”
”Yep.”
”What’s your best memory of your father?”
”He was always really weak. But I remember one weekend he went to the hospital and got a blood transfusion, and when he got back from the hospital he was feeling really strong and energetic for a few days, so he played with us and ran around.”

”What was the happiest moment of your life?” ”
Probably when I saw my husband for the first time.”
“Did you know he was going to be your husband?”
“I did.”
“How’s that?”
“Oh, I don’t know. He was just so exciting.”
“What’s the most exciting thing he ever did?”
“Oh, I don’t know. One day when we were working in the garden, he got down on one knee and proposed to me. At that point, we’d already been married for 35 years.”
För att hitta deras facebooksida, tryck här!
jag kan göra ett inlägg någon annan gång med alla mina favoriter, men jag hade inte tillräckligt med ork att skrolla så långt bak i arkivet idag!
PoK!

Kommentera

